This morning my wife and I visited a church we’d never been to before and then went out to breakfast afterwards. As we were eating I looked around the restaurant and commented to my wife that I imagined very few of the people around us had been to church. She agreed and then asked, “why would they? I doubt that any of them feel a real need to go. It’s just not relevant to their lives.”

 

I’m afraid she’s right. It’s not that churches aren’t trying to be relevant because I think they are. But, how can churches be relevant today? What do they need to do in order to be attractive to those people who would otherwise never attend? It seems that most people are really asking, “who needs church? My life is great without it! I’m a good person.” And you know what? They’re right. In so many ways and on so many levels they’re right.

So, how do we make the church relevant to people asking the question, who needs church? 

